ALA’s National Moot Court Competition Was Held Nov 5-6, 2010

The Appellate Lawyers Association Moot Court Committee would like to congratulate the following winners of the 2010 Moot Court Competition.


First Place: Team 14, Cardozo School of Law consisting of Alex Meszaros, Elana Jacob, and Ted Schadeke.

Second Place: Team 7, Northern Illinois University, consisting of Josh Ladwig and Kristen Shaffer

Best Brief

First Place: Team 10, University of Wisconsin.

Second Place: Team 14, Cardozo School of Law

Third Place: Team 7, Northern Illinois University

Best Oral Argument

First Place: Gregg Barbakoff, Chicago Kent

Second Place: Clifton Dortch, Florida A&M University College of Law

Third Place: Ted Schadeke, Cardozo School of Law

Participating Schools

  • Benjamin N.Cardozo School of Law
  • Chapman University School of Law
  • Florida A&M College of Law
  • Kent College of Law
  • Northern Illinois University School of Law
  • Southwestern Law School
  • Texas Tech University School of Law
  • Thomas M. Cooley Law School
  • University of Illinois College of Law
  • University of Houston Law Center
  • University of Wisconsin Law


Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Details to Download

Review and download the Moot Court Rules and the Moot Court Record.


The Appellate Lawyers Association Moot Court Committee would like to thank the following sponsors for
contributing to this year's Moot Court competition.

Platinum Sponsor:

Schuyler, Roche & Crisham, PC

Silver Sponsors:

  • Donohue, Brown, Mathewson & Smyth LLC
  • Heyl Royster Voelker & Allen
  • Hinshaw & Culbertson LLP
  • Kevin M. Forde, LTD
  • Quarles & Brady LLP
  • Tabet DiVito & Rothstein LLC

 Bronze Sponsors:

  • Adler Murphy & McQuillen LLP
  • Kavanagh Grumley & Gorbold LLC
  • Michael Rathsack Attorney at Law
  • Williams Montgomery & John LTD

Previous Competitions

Peruse the pages from other previous Moot Courts: (2009, 2008, spring 2007 and 2005, or get details about our upcoming moot court.

Back to top

Contact Us

Christine Teed

Program Administrator

Appellate Lawyers Association

1717 N. Naper Blvd., Suite 102

Naperville, IL 60563

P: (630) 416-1166, ext. #303

F: (630) 416-9798

 About the ALA  Contact  Leadership  Online CLE  Events  Members Only  Resources  Forum  •  Home