ALA’s National Moot Court Competition Held in November Was a Hit

This year’s ALA moot court competition, held on Nov. 6–7, 2009, was a great success, with 16 teams from across the country participating. The following 11 schools sent teams to the competition: 

  • Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law
  • Chapman University School of Law
  • Chicago-Kent College of Law
  • Florida A & M College of Law
  • Liberty University School of Law
  • Northern Illinois Law School
  • Texas Tech University School of Law
  • Thomas M. Cooley Law School
  • University of Houston Law Center
  • University of Illinois College of Law
  • University of Wisconsin School of Law

Team 3 from Chicago-Kent, consisting of Jocelyn Floyd and Maris Mapolski, won the overall competition. Team 10 from Texas Tech, consisting of Kate Cross, Jason Jordan and Clint Buck, won second place.

Team 3 won first place for best brief. Team 10 won second, and the team from the University of Wisconsin won third place.

For best oral argument, Jocelyn Floyd won first place, Orrie Levey of Cardozo Law School won second, and Maris Mapolski won third place.

The ALA received excellent feedback from faculty advisers:

“The faculty advisors I’ve talked to were all satisfied customers. The judges were fair, active and well-prepared, and that’s the biggest thing all of us hope for. People also really appreciated your attentiveness throughout the process.” 

“Thank you again for running a great competition. Using experienced appellate lawyers as judges is far more valuable to our moot court students...  I’ve never seen a more well-prepared group of judges.”

“We appreciate everything the ALA did to make this competition a valuable experience for the students. We’ll be back next year... We truly do appreciate you opening this up to schools from across the nation, and again, thanks for an outstanding tournament.”

This year’s competition is scheduled for November 5–6, 2010, in Chicago.

Photographs from the 2009 competition are posted on Shutterfly.

Previous Competitions

Peruse pages from the 2010 moot court, 2008 moot court, the 2007 spring moot court, the 2006 moot court, and the 2005 moot court, or get details about our upcoming moot court.

Back to top

Contact Us

Christine Teed

Program Administrator

Appellate Lawyers Association

1717 N. Naper Blvd., Suite 102

Naperville, IL 60563

P: (630) 416-1166, ext. #303

F: (630) 416-9798

 About the ALA  Contact  Leadership  Online CLE  Events  Members Only  Resources  Forum  •  Home