ALA’s 2014 National Moot Court Competition
November 7-8

The Appellate Lawyers Association (ALA) will be sponsoring its annual moot court com­petition on Friday and Saturday, November 7 and 8, 2014 in Chicago, Illinois.

ALA members act as judges for one of the only Midwest competitions held at every level in working courtrooms. The final round is scheduled to be held in the ceremonial court room of the United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois. Past judges for the final round include: Judge Diane Wood, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit; Judge Robert M. Dow, Jr., U.S. District Judge for the Northern District of Illinois; Justice Anne Burke and Justice Mary Jane Theis, Supreme Court of Illinois; Justice Brent E. Dickson, Supreme Court of Indiana; Justice David Prosser, Jr., Supreme Court of Wisconsin; Justice Robert Cook, Justice Richard P. Golden­hersh, Justice Donald C. Hudson, Justice William E. Holdridge, and Justice M. Carol Pope of the Appellate Court of Illinois.

Recent participating schools include University of Wisconsin Law School, Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law, South Texas College of Law, University of Illinois College of Law, Northern Illinois University College of Law, Loyola University Chicago School of Law, Thomas M. Cooley Law School, Florida Coastal School of Law, Chicago‐Kent College of Law.

There is a $75 nonrefundable entry fee for participating in the ALA competition. In order to limit the number of teams to 16, all registrations need to be submitted no later than August 18, 2014.


Not only does the Appellate Lawyers Association Moot Court Competition provide your students with industry contacts, but winners of the competition will receive a financial prize.

  • The winning team will receive a monetary scholarship of at least $500
  • The Best Brief and Best Oral Argument will each receive a monetary scholarship of at least $250.


In keeping with the ALA's attempt to formulate moot court problems that are "ripped from the headlines," this year's problem involves issues of criminal law and evidence.


“Using experienced appellate lawyers as judges is far more valuable to our moot court students than are trial-lawyer judges who often don't understand the difference between advocacy to a jury and advocacy to a panel of judges. Your judges were superb. I've never seen a more well-prepared group of judges."
Moot Court Faculty Advisor

“ALA was an amazing experience that I will never forget. The issues on appeal were extremely interesting and I loved the challenge they posed in researching and crafting legal arguments. The competition was well run throughout its entirety. The experience and honor of arguing in the final round in front of Michael A. Scodro, Illinois’ Solicitor General, Justice William E. Holdridge, Illinois Appellate Court Third District, and Justice Donald C. Hudson, Illinois Appellate Court Second District truly made all of the hard work worth it.”
Moot Court Student Participant

“From the posh meet and greet in a renown law firm's Chicago highrise to the final round being benched by no less than the sitting Illinois Solicitor General, ALA was a moot court dream... everything you secretly hope a competition will be, but wouldn't dare wish it out loud for fear of jinxing it. A superbly run legal proving ground.”
Moot Court Student Participant


The 2013 competition winners were the team of Frances Denizard and Jared Wilkerson from Florida Coastal School of Law. They won the overall competition and first place award for best brief. Alan Gray and Shea Donato of Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law won second place overall competition. Shea Donato also won second place for best oral argument. Hadas Corey and Miriam Neems of Loyola Univeristy of Chicago Law School won second place award for best brief. Hadas Corey also won for best oral argument. 


Click Here to complete the registration form. Mail to Appellate Lawyers Association Attn: Christine Teed, 1717 N Naper Blvd., Suite 102, Naperville, IL 60563. Questions? Contact Christine at or 630-599-7103. The registration deadline is August 18, 2014

Attention ALA Members! Be Part of the Moot Court 2014 Team

Planning for the ALA moot court competition is underway and we want you to be a part of the team that makes this competition stand above the others! We hope you will be a part of the competition this year in any of four ways:

  1. serving as a judge on Friday, Nov. 7, 2014, in the afternoon at the Dirksen Federal Building
  2. grading briefs
  3. drafting portions of the appellate record
  4. joining the committee to coordinate the competition.

Please complete the Judge's Registration Form as soon as you are able. If you have any questions, or are interested in helping draft the problem or offering any other assistance, please email David Allen or Scott Howie.

Back to top

Contact Us

Christine Teed

Program Administrator

Appellate Lawyers Association

1717 N. Naper Blvd., Suite 102

Naperville, IL 60563

P: (630) 416-1166, ext. #303

F: (630) 596-1418

 About the ALA  Contact  Leadership  Online CLE  Events  Members Only  Resources  Forum  •  Home